News Ticker

Podcast: Vol. 133 – October 17, 2007

Tony Award-Winning writing team Ahrens and Flaherty stop by for an in-depth interview about their latest show opening at Lincoln Center, "The Glorious Ones" as well as their career, working habits and more. We also have an interview and in-studio performance from "Yank! A New Musical, being produced by the Brooklyn Based Gallery Players. We also have news and more, so hop on board!


Yank! A New Musical

FRESH FROM THE 2005 New York Musical Theatre Festival, Yank! A New Musical with music by Joseph Zellnick and Bookm and Lyrics by David Zellnick, is being produced by the Brooklyn based Gallery Players, follows the trials of a war journalist, Stu, and an army private, Mitch, as they find love in the trenches of the second world war.  Nancy Anderson and Jeffrey Denman, two of the shows actors, drop by to talk about the production.  We also hear “The Saddest Girl what I am”, performed in studio by Nancy, led by musical director, Daniel Feyer, and backed up by actors, Chris Carfizzi, Tyson Kaup, Daniel Shelvin.

For more information and to buy tickets visit:


VICTORIA EDWARDS, WILL PERFORM in her second cabaret, “Taking a Chance”, at the Duplex on OCtober 27 and 29, with shows at 10pm and 7pm, respectively.  Following her sold out cabaret, “The Road to Love”, last spring, Edwards, ponders her life so far, and what she’s ready to put faith in in the future.

For information and reservations visit or call: The Duplex

CASTING IS COMPLETE AND announced for the Roundabout Theatre Company’s production of the Hitchcockian thriller meets slapstick, The 39 Steps.  Charles Edwards is locked as the lead, being supported by cast members Arnie Burton, Jennifer Ferrin, abd Cliff Saunders.  These same cast appeared in the Boston try out to much critical acclaim.  The show will begin performances at the American Airlines Theatre December 28, 2007.

For more information and tickets visit:


CHRIS ROCK, MARGARET CHO, Seth Green, and more join cast of 24-Hour Plays Chris Rock, Elizabeth Banks, Margaret Cho, Seth Green, Hope Davis, Dan Fogler, Kristen Johnston, Ben Shenkman, Lynn Whitfield, Michael KennethWilliams and Tracie Thoms have joined the line-up of stars for theupcoming The 24 Hour Plays on Broadway.They join previously announced actors, including Billy Crudup, RosiePerez, and Marlo Thomas.Playwrights scheduled to create the six new plays include David Lindsay-Abaire, Julia Jordan, Warren Leight and Theresa Rebeck. Kwame Kwei Armah joins the previously announced directors, who include Christian Parker and Ari Edelson. Singer Nellie McKay (The Threepenny Opera) will be
the evening’s musical guest.The 24 Hour Company’s seventh annual star-studded event is slated for Oct.22 at 8 PM at the American Airlines Theatre.

Proceeds will benefit Working Playground.

For  more information visit:


TONY WINNING MICHAEL Mayer as well as Philip Coltoff and C. Warren Moses will be honored at the annual awards dinner and gala for Theatreworks/USA, the not-for-profit professional theatre for family audiences.  The gala will boast performances from John Bolton, Joe Iconis, John Gallagher Jr., Lauren Pritchard, Seth Rudestky and The Children’s Aid Society Choir.  Spring Awakening’s John Gallagher Jr. will present the award to his director, Michael Mayer, at the October 22nd celebration.  TheatreworksUSA’s Goodworks Award, which was established in 1985, is awarded to individuals who “have made outstanding contributions in the fields of business, philanthropy and/or the arts.”



THE NEW YORK MUSICAL Theatre Festival has announced its 2007 Awards in Excellence Winners, which will be presented November 4th at a gala to be Held at the Hudson Theatre.  Unlock’d won the much-coveted Best in Fest award, voted on by the audience members.  Other winners include Boy in the Bathroom for Most Promising New Musical AND Excellence in Book, The Yellow Wood for Excellence in Music, Such Good Friends for Excellence in Lyrics AND Excellence in Directing, and Going Down Swingin’ for Outstanding Ensemble Performance.

For a complete list of all the winners, visit


Ahrens and Flaherty

 ONE OF THE GREATEST musical theatre teams fo the modern theatre, Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, have amassed a hug canon of songs and shows knownt he world over.  They drop by to talk to us about their new show, The Glorious Ones, now in previews at Lincoln Center at the Vivian Beaumont Theatre.  We hear selections form their past musicals, My Favorite Year, A Man of No Importance, as well as a performance by Marin Mazie of a song form their new show, The Glorious Ones.  The team informs us of where they get their ideas, how they write, and the hardest hitting question: who comes first Ahrens or Flaherty?

For information and tickets to The Glorious Ones visit: or

To order a copy of the original cast album for My Favorite Year visit:  Amazon or

To order a copy of the original cast album for A Man of No Importance visit: Amazon or

To order Marin Mazzie and Jason Danieley’s CD featuring “Opposite You” visit Amazon or 




CLAY AIKEN TO MAKE Broadway Debut in Monty Python’s Spamalot “American Idol” finalist Clay Aiken is scheduled to join the Broadway cast of the Tony Award-winning musical, Monty Python’s Spamalot in the role of Sir Robin.  Aiken will be making his Broadway debut in the role originated on Broadway by David Hyde Pierce. His stint begins Jan. 18, 2008, and is scheduled to continue through May 4.  Aiken — who was bested by Ruben Studdard during the second season of “American Idol” — has gone on to sell more than 6 million albums, co-author a best selling book (“Learning to Sing: Hearing the Music in Your Life”), and play six sold-out concert tours. He was a focus of the short-lived Off-Broadway musical, Idol: The Musical and has appeared on “Ed,” “Saturday Night Live” and “Scrubs.”

For more information visit:



Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.